Player of the Year Awards

squirrelhuntersSaturday night saw the annual Player of the Year Awards in the Ally MacLeod hospitality suite at Somerset Park. The event was ran by AU Media with Commercial Manager Graeme Miller the nights host.

The first award of the night was from the supporters group the Squirrelhunters.  Squirrelhunter stalwart Davie Blythe presented the two awards. Firstly to Robbie Crawford as the Young Player of the Year and finally to JP McGovern as their Player of the Year.


For the first time we added a new award to this event The Players Player of the Year award. All of our squad were asked to vote for who they felt was their player of the year. John Henry took to the stage and talked about the importance of such an award to any player. John felt that the winner had been consistent throughout the season and was a well deserved winner and duly presented the award to Nicky Devlin.


Coming back from the buffet The River Cottage Ayr United Travel Club sent Tam Watters up to make a speech about the season and present Nicky Devlin with their award as Player of the Year. tam jamie and nicky Before leaving the stage Jamie Garret was called to the stage. Tam and Jamie jointly run the travel club and have now taken a bus to every single away game for two seasons running. AU Media sponsored an award for Outstanding Contribution to Ayr United and Calum Campbell and Iain Robb from AU Media were delighted to present Tam and Jamie with the award. Following on from this came the great news that an anonymous donation and had been given to run a second supporters bus to Forfar from the River Cottage, one which our board of directors matched which means that 3 buses will now run at the cost of only £3 a head.


Captain JP McGovern then made a speech about what he felt had been an underachieving season however he felt that we had enough quality to go to Forfar and get a result.  He stressed his appreciation towards the support for their efforts this season and asked for another effort on Saturday. JP then made the presentation to Robbie Crawford who won the Young Player of the Year award as voted for by the fans. robbie young player






Ian McCall then took to the stage to discuss the season and reiterated that he felt performances should have dictated a higher points total than what we have however we are where we are and although he felt it was a poor performance on Saturday he was delighted with the result. Ian also mentioned his appreciation for the reception he has received since joining the club.  nicky player of the year Finally he thanked the fans for their support and also asked for the support to really get behind the team on Saturday. Ian then presented the Player of the Year award to Nicky Devlin. Nicky focused on the fans during his speech and said that although sometimes the fans may not realise it the players appreciate and need the support that our fans provide. He said that we are going to Forfar to win and with the fans behind us we can certainly do that.


Finally we had one last award which was also sponsored by AU Media. The goal of the season had 5 nominees. bobo goal of season Hot Favourite was Alan Forrest who had 4 of the 5 entries including a stunning long range effort against Stenhousemuir. However the final entry was centre half Martyn Campbell who scored with a deft flick at home to Airdrie earlier in the season. Voting had been taking place over the last few weeks with fans on AU Medias facebook page which gave the final 5 and all in attendance on Saturday night voted for the winner.  Martyn Campbell, who would have been a big outsider for the award, was announced the winner to huge cheers from the floor and chorus’s of Somerset Boabs new ‘Bobo’ song.




Prior to the event on Saturday AU Media made the first of the Player of the Year awards and asked a very special guest to present it. mirren award Nicky Devlin won the AU Media ‘Honest Man’ award with two matches to play and couldn’t be overtaken. AU Media asked Mirren Watters to present the award to Nicky as she is Nicky’s player sponsor and without doubt his biggest fan!